Pancakes & Eggs For Dinner

Last week I was in the mood for pancakes, so I grabbed a box in the pancake/breakfast isle at Walmart. I didn’t even pay attention to what it said on the front. All I saw was pancakes and a cheap price so in the cart in went.

When I got home I realized it was gluten free:

14879881
Gluten free

When I was thinking about what to make for dinner the other night I pulled out this gluten free pancake mix and asked the hubs if that sounded good to him. He said it did and he couldn’t wait to have some.

I started making the pancakes shortly after he came home and I just thought this was going to taste horribly after reading the ingredients.

At the same time my toddler was “helping” (her latest craze is to think she’s actually helping in the kitchen) me stir the eggs to scramble them. All three of us usually eat two eggs each so there were 6 eggs total cooking.

Once dinner was ready I told my husband I accidentally bought gluten free pancakes and he didn’t care, he was hungry and wanted to try them.

We buttered our warm pancakes and poured maple syrup on top. We took our first bite and were blown away at how delicious they were. They tasted just like regular pancakes, maybe even just a little bit better. I was shocked. I thought for sure my hubs was going to want something else to eat. It made about 8-10 small thick pancakes and with the eggs we were full pretty fast.

Next time I’ll have bacon or ham on hand and slices of avocados to make this feel like a full blown breakfast meal. I like having pancakes for dinner instead of breakfast.

Anyway, as I sit here and think about how delicious this meal was, my stomach is growling. Time to find something to eat!

My husband once bought a different brand gluten free last year by accident as well and that brand that I can’t remember did not taste good.

If you’re trying out gluten free (as we do often but not always) then try this Betty Crocker Bisquick Gluten Free pancake mix. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

 

 

 

One thought on “Pancakes & Eggs For Dinner

Leave a Reply

