Loving My Homemade Chicken Soup Creations

I don’t know if it’s because Fall is coming and the weather has cooled off a bit, but I have been craving and making soups!

It all started when I bought a bag of carrots about 4 weeks ago.

I kept wondering what I would make with carrots and the only thing I could think of was a homemade chicken soup. So last week, I boiled about 3 chicken tenderloins, boiled 6 chopped carrots, boiled 1 chopped up organic potato, (from Fred Meyer) threw in some organic raw spinach in a big pot of water with about two spoon fulls of the veggie better than bouillon, spices and tomato sauce. I used to think soups required pasta but I easily made quinoa in 15 minutes so I also added this to my soup. This felt like a super soup full of amazing flavor.

All I could think about today what making another delicious soup. I knew I had about 6-8 organic carrots left in my fridge. I found organic carrots at Walmart a few days ago, I was so happy they are at my local grocery store are carrying organic produce now! I created this tonight:

quinoa, potato, carrot, bean soup.
My Fall Stew

I pulled out my 6-8 carrots when I got home this evening,  I peeled them and chopped them. While chopping them up I had a big stainless steal pot of water with half of organic vegetable broth brewing up to boil. I chose a veggie broth instead of the meat selections because the meat ones had added sugars in them and if you’ve been reading my blog you know I try to avoid this. The veggie one is refined sugar free and was also sugar substitute free. I washed and chopped up 1 organic potato. What I love about organic potatoes is that the ones I chose were bigger than regular potatoes and I don’t feel guilty eating the skin because non organic potato skins have tons of toxins in them, they’re on the dirty dozen list.

While I was doing all this chopping, I boiled 4 chicken tenderloins and drained and rinsed 2 cans of organic pinto beans. What’s funny to me is that the non organic cans of beans had so many unnecessary added ingredients in them and the organic ones just had the beans, salt, and water so I went with those.

Once my big pot of water and veggie broth boiled I added the potato and carrots. Once the carrots were a little soft, but not all the way soft, I added the beans so they could heat up and soften up a bit. Once the potatoes and carrots were tender and soft I added the chopped up boiled chicken and I put in half a can of small tomato sauce with two spoon fulls of veggie better than bouillon with 1 table spoon of garlic powder, black pepper, cumin and 1 tsp of chili powder, salt and a pinch of smoked paprika. I also added about a cup of left over quinoa. Once the quinoa and spices boiled in for a few minutes my soup was ready. The prep time and total cooking time was about 30-45 minutes.

IMAG4013

Linchpin Mama’s Chicken Soup:

Ingredients:

6-8 carrots

1 big potato

4 chicken tenderloins

2 cans of beans of choice

1 box of vegetable broth or any broth

Half can of small tomato sauce

Enough water to fill a big pot

Half cup of quinoa or any pasta you want (optional)

Spinach (optional)

2 table spoons of veggie better than bouillon

1 tsp of salt

1 tsp of chili powder

1 table spoon of garlic powder

1 table spoon of cumin

1 table soon of black pepper

a pinch of smoked or regular paprika

Directions:

Heat up a big pot of water, you can add veggie or meat broth for more of a flavor blast. Once it’s heated up chop up carrots and potatoes. Once pot of water boils start boiling the four chicken tenderloins in a separate pot and then add in the potato and carrots to big pot. Once they are cooked open up cans of beans, and empty in strainer to drain. Add cooked boiled chicken to the big pot of veggies, beans, and potatoes. Here you can add your greens to make an super healthy soup. Also add in cooked quinoa. After adding in quinoa add in the paprika, black pepper, cumin, garlic, chili powder, salt, and bouillon. Let everything boil together for another 5 minutes. Serve hot/warm and feel free to add any other spice or more salt. I love to add fresh squeezed lime juice to my soups. 🙂

I hope you enjoy this or enjoy making your own homemade soups. You can basically add in your favorite veggies, proteins and feel good about eating this. I love how two cups of soup really fills me up. 🙂

Soups can help you lose weight.

My home smells soooooo good!

Good night!

IMAG40142222


*If you minus the potato and add cauliflower this meal is PCOS and diabetic friendly.

 

Leave a Reply

