Chiropractic Therapy

tahiti-wanaka-3-section-massage-table-adjustable-backrest

I had a visit with my chiropractor yesterday. He’s the one who has helped me back in 2012 figure out that my hormones were out of whack and how to combat that issue. He was also the one who helped me fix my bad eating lifestyle by suggesting a book to me and telling me what I was eating wasn’t healthy even though I was dieting and exercising. I owe my weight loss success to him and he is always proud of me for keeping off the pounds.

With that being said my chiro asked me how I was doing. I bluntly said well with miscarrying back in March and barely finding out it was still in me in May and not having a procedure to get it out till end of June was one of the hardest things I have gone through. I told him about my misdiagnosis.

He had me lie on my back and started to put my arm up and then he would push against it, I really can’t describe what he was doing but he basically could tell I had a lot of stress and tension from my miscarriage and said my body was telling him that I haven’t let it go. I didn’t know if I was supposed to push back at him but he said to not worry about it. As he kept doing these pressure things to my arms and saying phrases like,  “you’re mad and sad about the doctor you had for not listening to you, and about the miscarriage.. .etc..” He was acknowledging the stress and pain I must of endured and as kept going on about this I started to cry and agree with him. I don’t know if it’s because I realized that I really haven’t let go of the pain and anger from this miscarriage or if I was crying because I’ve tried for the last 6 months to just put on a tough face and pretending to show everyone that I am fine from this. Sometimes I am, other times I am not.. I think I am a bit traumatized. What I went through was rare and it shouldn’t have gone so long and I’ve learned a lot from it. I hope it doesn’t happen to anyone else.

My chiro said that I needed to de-stress and he thinks the reason behind my slow weight loss is because during my tough work weeks, I am so drained and just want to make something quick and unhealthy for lunch. Since he knows I can lose weight and says I am at a good weight he just advised to go back to the eating habits I know that work for me and I agreed I would.

I stopped crying because he must of realized some tension my body was giving out. Maybe it was because he sympathized with me. All I know is that seeing this wonderful chiro always puts me in a happy place. I feel listened to, I feel helped. I never got that from actual doctors. He told me keep up the good work with my weight and I thanked him for his help.The next time I see will probably be 2-3 months just to let him know how I’ve progressed.

I stuck to the promise about going back to my good eating life style for breakfast and lunch today. I wanted to for dinner but we were so drained that we made a frozen lasagna. I don’t feel too terrible though because tomorrow I can start again and I know I can do it. Anyway if you feel like you’re stuck in a rut with health issues try and see if your local chiropractor can try to help. There’s really nothing to lose.

Leave a Reply

