My toddler ate kale and didn’t even know it! (The girl who picks out her greens)

My wonderful husband went grocery shopping on his lunch yesterday. He even went to Fred Meyer to get me my organic berries! 🙂 His mission was to have groceries for smoothies.

My husband bought me a powerful high speed blender called the Ninja Pro Ultima Plus  at Fred Meyer (It was on sale at the time) in May after expressing how much we all could benefit from a high speed blender. It took me a bit to figure out how to make very smooth smoothies but now I have the hang of it, super easy!

00622356535076_A1C0.1024x1024

The image above looks exactly like the Ninja we have.

I am so thankful for bloggers like the Detoxinista who makes a ton of smoothies for her toddler and shared about this amazing Squeasy Snacker. I read a ton of reviews on it and thought it would be so great for our daughter since she used to squeeze out all of the contents everywhere when we use to buy her store bought toddler food pouches. I figured if she learns how to squeeze everything out of this one, then oh well, at least we tried it.

Our squeasy snacker arrived two days ago and I’ve been anxious to try it. The hubby made a smoothie after breakfast today and I am not sure what all of the ingredients were. I know he put in some fruits,organic whole milk, organic kale and etc… He shared this with our munchkin and she loved it! She didn’t spit or try to pick it out or give it to the dog like she does when I try to hide spinach/kale in her eggs or other meals. The Ninja does a good job of pulverizing the greens so that they’re not noticeable and you can’t taste it. She was super cute with the squeezer too! She carried it around everywhere just like she does with her stuffed monkey. The best part was that it really is spill proof and she couldn’t squeeze out all of the contents! A win win for sure!

After she woke up from her noon nap I decided I wanted to try a smoothie slightly adopted from the Detoxinista so I combined: 1 and a half cup of water, 3 table spoons of organic natural peanut butter, 5 pitted dates, 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract, 2 table spoons of chia seeds, a handful of kale, a teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1 ripe avocado and a handful of organic blue berries. I blended everything in the ninja for a few minutes until it looked very smooth. I easily rinsed out the squeasy snacker used from the morning and poured my green smoothie in it. Needless to say it was delicious and the munchkin enjoyed two big servings! This was filling but we also ate some beans and extra berries after for a complete meal. Below are pictures I took of my doll enjoying her afternoon green smoothie:

smoothie

*Note that pitted dates can be found in the bulk section at Winco. The ones I found were at Fred Meyer and they weren’t pitted but I was able to cut them easily and get the pit out.

The smoothie I made was thick so next time I think I’ll add more water. You can add or subtract to the ingredients I used. After eating this smoothie my daughter and I seem to have more energy and it was a thrill to know she’s eating kale without realizing it. I need to remember making smoothies isn’t time consuming and the ninja easily cleans by adding a little bit of soap and filling with warm water and then blending. My only regret is not having the squeasy snacker a lot sooner!

Leave a Reply

