Chocolate Peanut butter Freezer Fudge

I never knew freezer fudge existed until I started following highly credited bloggers who create their own recipes and post on Facebook. I have my FB deactivated but I still go on to the blogger webpages to see what healthy delicious creative recipes they have come up with. Their recipes have changed my eating lifestyle.

A blogger I follow goes by the name the Detoxinista. A friend of hers has a blog called Oh She Glows  and she used some of Detoxinista’s fudge recipe but spiced it up with a few different ingredients including a chocolate sauce topping with salt.

-I followed the Oh She Glows one but instead of using almond butter I used organic peanut butter from Costco. They come in a pair of two. The nice part about this recipe is that the peanut butter can be replaced with almond butter, walnut butter, cashew butter, sunflower seed butter, etc.

-I also did not use maple syrup as a sweetener for the peanut butter mixture or the chocolate mixture because it’s not any better than using regular table sugar, it’ll spike blood sugar and you can’t lose weight or maintain a good weight when that happens.

+Whenever I see a recipe calling for maple syrup, honey, white/brown sugar or other sweeteners, I pull out my homemade liquid sweetener made from organic coconut sugar and make a simple syrup out of it. The syrup can keep in the fridge for up to 6 months or so. I love the taste and it is low glycemic so it doesn’t raise blood sugar which is a plus if you’re looking for a healthy alternative to sugar. Here’s a recipe for a coconut simple syrup.

-And I didn’t use Himalayan sea salt just regular sea salt. 🙂

+I also used regular organic naturally refined coconut oil found at Winco even though it asks for virgin coconut oil. To me the difference is that naturally refined vs. unrefined tastes less coconut-y, which is a plus for my husband.

Anyway my treats tasted amazing and my husband and kiddo enjoys them. I even saw our babysitter digging into them. Here’s my picture, trust me they tasted amazingly even though the picture below doesn’t do them justice.

IMAG3618

This was my first attempt so next time I will make them look much fancier and spread the chocolate better. As you can see there are only several pieces left. I had about 25 and 8 are remaining after only two days. They go by fast.

*My Chocolate Peanut Butter Freezer Fudge (dairy, egg, soy, gluten, refined sugar free) **slightly adapted from Oh she Glows & Everyday Detox:

Chocolate Peanut butter Freezer Fudge:

  1. 1 1/2 cups organic peanut butter or butter (sunflower, cashew, walnut, almond) of choice
  2. 1/4 cup of coconut sugar simply syrup or liquid sweetener of choice
  3. 1/4 cup of coconut oil
  4. 1/2 teaspoon of salt

Directions: Warm up coconut oil in a pan and add liquid sweetener until well combined, remove from heat. I like to add in the peanut butter right after and the sea salt and mix until well combined. Pour mixture into a loaf pan of your choice and make sure to line with parchment paper before pouring. Smooth out with a spatula and put in freezer to set.

Chocolate sauce: (make after the peanut butter mixture freezes for about 45 minutes.)

  1.  1.5 tablespoons of coconut sugar simple syrup of liquid sweetener of choice
  2. 3 tablespoons of coconut oil
  3. 3 tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder (I use organic)

Directions: Warm up the coconut oil, add in sweetener until well combined and then slowly add in the cocoa powder until a chocolate sauce forms. I like my chocolate sweet so I add in more sweetener. Take the peanut butter fudge out and pour chocolate sauce on and spread evenly with spatula. Put the loaf pan back in the freezer and in an hour or two you’ll have a delicious treat ready to eat that combines candy bar quality of chocolate and peanut butter. Yummm….! I hope you enjoy!

*Note that you can easily play around with the combinations by doubling the chocolate sauce first and using half of it to coat the bottom of a loaf pan and let it freeze till it sets, about 30 minutes. Take it of the freezer and spread the peanut butter mixture over the frozen chocolate, place back in freezer. Once the peanut butter sets over the chocolate (40 minutes or so) take it once more to spread the remaining chocolate sauce and freeze again for a good hour to create chocolate peanut cups or bars.

This can store well in the freezer but will probably be eaten within a few days from you and your family members. 🙂

One thought on “Chocolate Peanut butter Freezer Fudge

  1. This looks delicious! I may try these sometime this summer, because frozen fudge sounds so yummy. I’ll have to change the recipe because Jon is allergic to coconut, but thankfully it looks like a very forgiving recipe already, so that’s awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

